National Opera House Event

Irish National Opera presents Mozart The Magic Flute

17 May 2019

In Partnership with Irish Chamber Orchestra Mozart’s enchanting final opera. His most popular stage work. A timeless moral tale in a world of clashing cultures.  Trials of courage and love. A journey that encounters serpents and magic interventions. The dark realm of the vocally virtuosic Queen of the Night struggles against the judgement and reason of Sarastro, the High Priest of Isis and Osiris. In between, a separated couple cope with rites and rituals, and Papageno, a humble birdcatcher, searches for a wife.“ with a voice as liquid and sparkling as the best champagne, this... Irish soprano  showered us with vivid characterisations, kaleldoscopic hues and the brightest of coloratura flourishes.” The Times on Anna Devin “Few things in theatre are more exciting than watching a star being born, and the big-bang roar that greeted Jennifer Davis’s curtain call after her debut as Lohengrin’s beloved Elsa was one such magic moment.” The Daily Telegraph “Gavan Ring seized every opportunity to demonstrate the stylish vocal allure that has to underpin Giovanni’s sexual pulling power...” Opera Magazine.


Stalls (Centre): €49
Stalls (Sides): €36
Founders Circle (Centre): €80
Founders Circle (Sides): €48
Founders Circle (Boxes): €36
Circle (Centre – first 4 rows): €49
Circle (Centre – back 4 rows): €40
Circle (Sides): €32
Circle (Boxes): €15

Sung in German with English Surtitles

The creative team for the 17th of May 2019 performance

Conductor                             Peter Whelan

Director                                 Caroline Staunton

Set & lighting designer          Ciaran Bagnall

Costume designer                 Katie Davenport

Chorus director                      Sinead Hayes

Assistant director                    Sarah Baxter


Pamina                                     Anna Devin

Tamino                                     Nick Pritchard

Papageno                                 Gavan Ring

Queen of the Night                    Kim Sheehan

Sarastro                                      Lukas Jakobski

First lady                                     Rachel Croash

Second lady                                Sarah Richmond

Third lady                                    Raphaela Mangan

Monostatos                                 Andrew Gavin

Papagena                                  Amy Ní Fhearraigh

Speaker                                      Padraic Rowan

First armed man                         Fearghal Curtis

Second armed man                   Robert McAllister

First priest                                  Matthew Mannion

Second priest                              Peter O’Reilly


Irish National Opera Chorus

Irish Chamber Orchestra