The Everyman and John O’Brien Present Sea Trilogy: Three One Act Operas

6 May 2020
Tickets: €30
Concessions: €25 Students: €15

Riders to the Sea by Ralph Vaughan Williams, directed by Liz Roche
The Lament for Art O'Leary by Irene Buckley, directed by Sophie Motley
Coiscéim by John O’Brien, directed by Éadaoin O'Donoghue 

Curated by the highly acclaimed composer, conductor and director, John O’Brien, Sea Trilogy brings together a cast of singers, dancers, directors, choreographers and designers as well as an 8-voice female ensemble and a 15-piece orchestra. 

An ancient reflection on exile told through the beauty of nature.
The passionate rage and desire of a pregnant widow expressed as a ‘caoineadh’.
The boundless grief of island women at the loss of their men to the sea.

All three works are deeply rooted to Ireland and the natural world.
Funded by an Arts Council Opera Production Award.

Riders To The Sea by Ralph Vaughan Williams to text adapted from JM Synge © Oxford University Press 1936, 1972. Performed by arrangement with Oxford University Press. All rights reserved

The Lament for Art O’Leary is an adaptation by Irene Buckley of Vona Groarke’s English translation of Eibhlín Dubh Ní Chonaill’s 1773 poem, Caoineadh Airt Ui Laoghaire, published by Gallery Books in 2008.

Creative Team:
Riders to the Sea 
By Ralph Vaughan Williams
Directed by Liz Roche
Designed by Maree Kearns

The Lament for Art O'Leary 
By Irene Buckley
Directed by Sophie Motley
Designed by Valentina Gambardella

By John O’Brien
Directed by Éadaoin O'Donoghue
Designed by Lisa Zagone

All pieces are conducted by John O’Brien

Principal Singers:

Majella Cullagh
Rory Dunne
Emma Nash
Kim Sheehan

Annie Gill
Grainne Gillis
Sarah Kilcoyne
Muirgen O’Mahony
Emma Power
Justine Viani
Ciara Walton

Dancer: Justine Cooper

‘My job is my life. I’m a musical theatre-maker, I’ve always been about making things that move people’ - John O’Brien interviewed by Mary Leland for THE IRISH TIMES